The Tudors At Greenwich Palace
Removed from the hustle and bustle of the city, Greenwich Palace was ideal for Henry VIII. Greenwich contained over 500 acres of land working allot like a community. The amazing views and huge amount of space led Henry to call Greenwich Palace 'the least world within a world'. The palace itself was huge, featuring three squares, including a great garden. The Dutch Giants'Gallery is a staircase that features 12 enormous statues of mythological characters such as giants and even the Cyclops from Homer's Odyssey.
Greenwich Palace itself was a magnificent building, and Henry didn’t want to live as his parents did – in the London palace of Westminster, South Greenwich Forum (southgreenwichforum.co.uk). Instead he wanted somewhere simple and peaceful with a good view. At Greenwich he could escape the hustle and bustle of London and indulge in his hobbies. Greenwich Palace sits at the tip of Greenwich Park, on the banks of the River Thames. The palace was originally built for the Duke of Normandie, who later became King John.
In 1273, King Edward I turned Greenwich Palace into a winter palace for royal use. Built in 1433, Greenwich Palace was situated on the banks of the River Thames. The Palace and it’s grounds were an hour away from London by horse during Henry VIIIs time and often used as a place for hunting, fishing and hawking. Greenwich was originally a property owned by the Archbishops of Canterbury and then King Henry VIII acquired it in 1514.
The palace is most famous for being one of Henry VIIIs favourite residences. There are three ways to buy Thameslink tickets: online, at a ticket machine or on the day of travel from a ticket office. You can also buy tickets in advance for groups and families. You can buy tickets online for both Thameslink train services, and the Underground services that travel through central London. Just follow these instructions. There are some nice walks in Greenwich Park.
See Remains Of The Palace Today
The White and Gold Rooms, which lie underneath Painted Hall, are part of the original 15th-century Palace. When Henry VIII closed the friary, he turned them into royal apartments and dining rooms. The rooms were named after their decoration the walls were first painted with designs in white paint, then gilded over. They contain a spectacular survival from this time — the only table that is known to have been part of a set from Henry VIII’s Great Hall at Hampton Court.
The two rooms suffered badly at the hands of Cromwell’s army and were not fully painted again until last year. Visitors will notice that they now look very different from when they were unveiled in 1851. Before Henry VIII ordered the Dissolution of the Monasteries in 1536, it was one of the most important houses in England. Its buildings were used as a royal palace, a mint and armoury. During the reign of Henry V111 the original palace buildings were extended, enhanced and embellished.
In the sixteenth century a richly ornamented Painted Hall was added along with other sumptuous interiors and gardens. A carved stone plaque uncovered in the excavations features the same design as one found two years earlier under the Painted Hall. The brass-rubbing of this earlier plaque forms part of the new displays in the renovated corridors that link the Painted Hall, Tapestry Room and Victoria Tower Wing. At first glance Hampton Court Palace is a lavish Tudor mansion, but beneath the Painted Hall can lie the remains of a chapel once used by palace monks.
What Happened To Greenwich Palace?
Greenwich Palace was built in the 16th-century, and was served as the home of Britain's monarchs between 1538 for less than a decade. In fact, it served as the last Royal Palace to be built under the Tudors. After completion in 1540, Henry VIII lived in Greenwich Palace occasionally with his new wife Anne Boleyn during their short marriage. The Palace also became the residence of his third wife Jane Seymour after their wedding in 1536.
Greenwich Palace, or Old Palace, was one of the most important Tudor residences built during the reigns of Henry VII and Henry VIII. Despite its associations with some of the most famous monarchs in English history, this royal palace fell into disrepair due to neglect and a series of conflicts between Parliamentarians (Roundheads) and Royalists (Cavaliers). Greenwich Palace was the royal residence of Henry VIII, but it fell into disrepair during the Civil War and much of it was torn down.
The palace was one of three by that name, the other two in London having been lost to fire and war. This blog will explore what was found during archaeological excavations in 2017 and how they could help uncover more about the palace’s history. The largest excavations ever undertaken within the Palace of Westminster, have begun and will run from 18 November 2017 to late 2018. During this time, visitors will be able to view a stunning spectacle as rare surviving remains from the Friary buildings are uncovered beneath St Stephen’s Hall.